Rhapsody: Music by Women Composers

Saturday, January 30, 2021

Ticket Information

The concert will be live-streamed on YouTube for free (donations welcome): https://centerfornewmusic.com/event/rhapsody-music-by-women-composers-e4tt/

RSVP to get the program notes in advance and reminders: www.rhapsody_livestream.eventbrite.com

7:30 PM
Presented By
Ensemble for These Times
Event Type
New Music
Event Contact
Dr Nanette McGuinness
Contact Email

Following up on E4TT’s wildly successful concert of music by women composers at the start of the year, E4TT will begin 2021 on a similar note on January 30 at the Center for New Music in San Francisco with the group's most diverse concert ever, “Rhapsody: Music by Women Composers.” The program features two reprises of music from E4TT's COVID-foreshortened season, “Matrix”(2020),by beloved Bay Area composer Elinor Armer (b. 1939), also for soprano and piano, and set to texts by two other Bay Area icons, Ursula Le Guin (1929-2018) and Rella Lossy (1944-1996) and "Rest These Hands" by Anna Clyne, plus works by Tania Leon, Jessie Montgomery, Missy Mazzoli, Claudia Montero, Caroline Shaw, Vivian Fung, Marti Epstein, Jennifer Higdon and the remarkable Polish composer, Grazyna Bacewicz:  www.E4TT.org/rhapsody.html

Ensemble Name
Ensemble for These Times
E4TT with guest violinist Ilana Blumberg and season guest pianist Margaret Halbig
Speakers / Participants
Pre-concert virtual composer talk with Armer/intro video by Montgomery
Emily Doolittle, Jessie Montgomery, Tania León, Claudia Montero, Caroline Shaw, Jennifer Higdon, Marti Epstein, Vivian Fung, Missy Mazzol; Anna Clyne, Grażyna Bacewicz

"Matrix” (2020) by beloved Bay Area composer Elinor Armer (b. 1939), set to texts by Ursula Le Guin (1929-2018) and Rella Lossy (1944-1996); "Tumbao" for solo piano by Cuban-American composer Tania León (b. 1943); "Rhapsody No. 1" (2014) for solo violin by Metropolitan Opera/ Lincoln Center Theater New Works composer Jessie Montgomery (b. 1981); Buenos Aires in Tres by multiple-Latin Grammy winner Claudia Montero (1983); In manus tuas for solo cello by 2013 Pulitzer Prize composer Caroline Shaw (b. 1982); “Echo Dash” for violin and piano by Pulitzer Prize winner Jennifer Higdon (b. 1962); etudesby 2020 Guggenheim fellow Marti Epstein (b. 1958); plus works by Canadian composer Vivian Fung (b. 1975), Missy Mazzoli (b. 1980), 2010 American Academy of Arts and Letters Charles Ives composer Anna Clyne (b. 1980), and Polish composer Grażyna Bacewicz (1909-1969). More info: www.E4TT.org/rhapsody.html

Virtual, streamed by the Center for New Music
55 Taylor St.
San Francisco, CA