Baroque and Blue

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Ticket Information

Tickets are $35 per person, free for students with ID!

4:00 PM
Presented By
Society for Chamber Music in Rochester
Event Type
Event Contact
Society for Chamber Music in Rochester

Society for Chamber Music in Rochester’s (SCMR) continues its 43rd season with Baroque and Blue, the annual tradition features classical music and a wine tasting. In addition, audience members will enjoy an inside look at the repertoire with a pre-concert talk by Artistic Directors and Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) Musicians Juliana Athayde and Erik Behr.
The 2020 version of the annual Baroque and Blue Concert begins with pieces composed by two major Baroque composers, Albinoni and Bach. Trumpeter Roy Smith will make his SCMR debut when he and pianist Chiao-Wen Cheng perform Albinoni’s popular Trumpet Sonata in A major, No.11 (St.Mark). Eastman School of Music Violin Professor RenĂ©e Jolles will join Chiao-Wen for Bach’s lyrical and energetic Violin Sonata no.3 in E Major.
The second half features two rarely performed works making their first appearance on the series. It begins with Milhaud’s jazz-influenced and vivacious La Creation du Monde arranged by the composer for a piano quintet. Originally scored for orchestra, the chamber version offers a different vantage point. Saint-Saens’ Septet will conclude the concert with a colorful collection of instruments including strings (with a bass!), trumpet, and piano. Athayde and Behr state “all of Saint-Saens’ characteristic lyricism and clever
musical language is on display in this entertaining crowd pleaser.”
SCMR is pleased to continue complimentary wine tastings at intermission generously sponsored by Pinnacle Wine and Liquor. The pre-concert talk is at 3:30pm and the performance begins at 4:00pm.

Ensemble Name
Society for Chamber Music in Rochester
J.S. Bach, Albinoni, Milhaud, Saint Saens

Albinoni Sonata in A major, No. 11 (St. Marc) for Trumpet, Strings and Continuo (1712)
J.S. Bach Violin Sonata No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1016 (1717-1723)
Milhaud La Creation du Monde for Piano Quintet (1923)
Saint-Saens Septet in E-flat Major (1880)

Renee Jolles, violin
Lara Sipols, violin
Marc Anderson, viola
Benjamin Krug, cello
Fred Dole, double bass
Roy Smith, trumpet
Chiao-Wen Cheng, piano

Hochstein Performance Hall
50 North Plymouth Avenue
Rochester, NY