Bank of America Chamber Music Series, Program IX

Wednesday, June 05, 2019

Ticket Information

1:00 PM
Presented By
Spoleto Festival USA
Event Type
Contact Email

Overflowing with exuberant musicianship and joyful camaraderie, 11 stimulating and boisterous programs—each performed three times—feature bright contemporary compositions and canonic treasures. This season, hear a wide range of 30 composers, 22 artists, and four mystery performances, revealed in concert. Violinist and host Geoff Nuttall, of the renowned St. Lawrence String Quartet, celebrates his 10th season at the helm of this unmatched series in the intimate Dock Street Theatre. Interspersed with Nuttall's signature wit and commentary, concerts flow effortlessly from 17th-century classics to 21st-century premieres.

Works during the 2019 series include Copland's invigorating Appalachian Spring, Schubert’s beloved octet, and the world premiere of composer-in-residence Paul Wiancko’s oboe quintet for James Austin Smith and the St. Lawrence String Quartet. Returning Festival favorites include countertenor Anthony Roth Costanzo, tenor Paul Groves, flutist Tara Helen O’Connor, clarinetist Todd Palmer, bassist Doug Balliett, violinist Daniel Phillips, violist Meena Bhasin, cellists Nina Lee and Joshua Roman, and a glorious trio of pianists—Inon Barnatan, Pedja Muzijevic, and Stephen Prutsman. These illustrious artists are joined by exciting newcomers: Karen Gomyo (violin), Amy Harman (bassoon), Paul Holmes Morton (theorbo), and David Byrd-Marrow (French horn).

Sponsored by Bank of America, all concerts are approximately 1 hour, 15 minutes. For a list of full concert details, visit

Pedja Muzijevic, James Austin Smith, Todd Palmer, Amy Harman, David Byrd-Marrow, Joshua Roman, Doug Balliett, Inon Barnatan, Geoff Nuttall, Meena Bhasin, Nina Lee
Speakers / Participants
Geoff Nuttall
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Matthew Aucoin, Gabriel Faure
June 5, 1:00pm
June 6, 11:00am and 1:00pm
Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-flat major, K 452
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 91)
Pedja Muzijevic, piano; James Austin Smith, oboe; Todd Palmer, clarinet;
Amy Harman, bassoon; David Byrd-Marrow, French horn
Matthew Aucoin (b 1990)
Joshua Roman, cello; Doug Balliett, double bass
Piano Quartet in C minor, op. 15
Gabriel Faur̩ (1845 Р1924)
Inon Barnatan, piano; Geoff Nuttall, violin; Meena Bhasin, viola; Nina Lee, cello

Dock Street Theatre
135 Church Street
Charleston, SC
Venue URL