ALIAS Spring Concert

Tuesday, June 04, 2019

Ticket Information

$20/person (students get in free w/active Student ID)

7:30 PM
Presented By
ALIAS Chamber Ensemble
Event Type
Event Contact
Alan Fey
Contact Email

ALIAS Chamber Ensemble’s last concert of the season will take you on a wonderful journey of eclectic sounds and moods. Composers Kris Wilkinson and Tim Lauer collaborate on the world premiere of an ambient piece combining strings with instruments such as the theravox and electric kalimba. In the piano trio, “A Tree of Life”, composer Michael Rose fantasizes on ancient Jewish melodic patterns, or Torah tropes. Our ears will be treated to another world premiere – a percussion ensemble written by Jesse Strauss and Mason Self. Composer Larissa Maestro has written a Filipino inspired cello quartet.
Alongside these local composers, we will sneak in a short, but charming Shostakovich string quartet, and an excerpt from Bach’s St. Matthew’s Passion, “Erbarme Dich”, sung by a counter tenor and joined by a violin, cello, and lute.

We hope to see you at Congregation Micah on Tuesday, June 4, 2019, at 7:30pm! Tickets on sale now!

Ensemble Name
ALIAS Chamber Ensemble
J.S. Bach, Dmitri Shostakovich, Michael Alec Rose, Larissa Maestro, Jesse Strauss, Kris Wilkinson, Tim Lauer
“Erbarme Dich” from St. Matthew Passion - J.S. Bach
This Little Light of Mine - Harry Dixon Loes, arr. John W. Work
Lihim - Larissa Maestro
Two Pieces for String Quartet - Dmitri Shostakovich
A Tree of Life - Michael Alec Rose
*Freya - Kristin Wilkinson and Tim Lauer
Thrash Early - Jesse Strauss

Congregation Micah
2001 Old Hickory Blvd
Brentwood, TN