Rolston String Quartet to Receive 2018 Cleveland Quartet Award

For Immediate Release
Contact: Nichole L. Knight
212-242-2022, ext. 107

Rolston String Quartet

Rolston String Quartet

New York, NY (November 27, 2017)—Chamber Music America (CMA), the national network for ensemble music professionals, announced today that the Rolston String Quartet has been selected to receive the Cleveland Quartet Award for the 2018–19 and 2019–20 seasons.

Established in 1995, the biennial award honors and promotes a rising young string quartet whose artistry demonstrates that it is in the process of establishing a major career. “We are pleased that the Rolston String Quartet will join the roster of distinguished quartets that have received the Cleveland Quartet Award over the years—the Brentano, Borromeo, Miami, Pacifica, MirĂ³, Jupiter, Parker, Jasper, Ariel, and Dover Quartets—all of which have enriched the chamber music field,” said Margaret M. Lioi, Chamber Music America’s chief executive officer.

The Rolston String Quartet—Luri Lee and Jeffrey Dyrda (violins), Hezekiah Leung (viola) and Jonathan Lo (cello)—formed in 2013 at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity’s Chamber Music Residency. In 2016, the ensemble won first prize in the Banff International String Quartet Competition, grand prize in the Chamber Music Yellow Springs Competition, and received prizes at the M-Prize and Bordeaux international competitions. That same year, the ensemble was named among the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation’s “30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians Under 30.” In the 2016-17 season, they embarked upon the Banff Competition’s winners’ tour, taking them throughout the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Israel. Having recently completed a residency at Rice University’s Shepherd School of Music, the group currently serves as the Yale School of Music’s fellowship quartet-in-residence. The Rolston String Quartet is managed by Astral Artists.

The award will be presented at the quartet’s “Yale in New York” performance on March 4, 2018 at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall. During the 2018-19 and 2019-20 concert seasons, the quartet will be presented by: the Buffalo Chamber Music Society (Buffalo, NY); Carnegie Hall (New York, NY); Chamber Music Society of Detroit (Detroit, MI); Freer and Sackler Galleries of Art at the Smithsonian (Washington, D.C.); Friends of Chamber Music (Kansas City, MO); Market Square Concerts (Harrisburg, PA); Krannert Center at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Urbana, IL); and the University of Texas at Austin (Austin, TX).

As a culmination of its remarkable 26-year history, the Cleveland Quartet sought to envision a lasting legacy for young musicians. The group joined forces with CMA and the eight presenters listed above to raise funds for the establishment of the Cleveland Quartet Award Endowment Fund. Nominations for the award are submitted confidentially to CMA by a national roster of chamber musicians, presenters, and educators. The winning string quartet’s performances are funded, in part, by income from the Cleveland Quartet Award Endowment Fund, which is managed by CMA.

Chamber Music America, the national network for ensemble music professionals, was founded in 1977 to develop, support, and strengthen the chamber music field. With a membership of nearly 6,000, including musicians, ensembles, presenters, artist managers, educators, music businesses, and advocates of ensemble music, CMA welcomes members representing a wide range of musical styles and traditions. CMA provides its members with grant programs, consulting services, a national conference, professional development seminars, access to instrument and other insurances, and several publications, including Chamber Music magazine; the weekly Accent e-newsletter; and a member-driven website, www.chamber-music.org.