Chamber Music America Honors David Shifrin with 2018 Richard J. Bogomolny Award

For Immediate Release
Contact: Nichole L. Knight
(212) 242-2022, ext. 106
Clarinetist David Shifrin

Clarinetist David Shifrin

New York, NY (October 2, 2017)—Chamber Music America (CMA), the national network for ensemble music professionals, has named clarinetist David Shifrin the recipient of its 2018 Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award. Given annually, the Bogomolny Award recognizes an individual or entity that has provided historic service to the small ensemble music field. CMA will honor Shifrin on Sunday, January 7, 2018, at The Westin New York at Times Square as part of its 40th Anniversary National Conference.

A distinguished figure on the American musical scene for over four decades, David Shifrin is known as a chamber musician, recitalist, orchestral soloist, presenter, educator, and recording artist. He has been the artistic director of Chamber Music Northwest in Portland, Oregon since 1981 and, since 1989, an artist member of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center where he served as artistic director from 1992 to 2004. A faculty member at the Yale School of Music since 1987, he was appointed artistic director of the Chamber Music Society of Yale and Yale’s annual concert series at Carnegie Hall in 2008. That same year, he became artistic director of the Phoenix Chamber Music Society's Winter Festival. He has held faculty positions at The Juilliard School, the University of Southern California, the University of Michigan, the Cleveland Institute of Music and the University of Hawaii.

The three-time GRAMMY nominee has recorded on the Delos, DGG, Angel/EMI, Arabesque, BMG, SONY, and CRI labels. He is one of only two wind players to have been awarded the Avery Fisher Prize since its inception in 1974. In addition, he has received a Solo Recitalists' Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the 1998 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Music Academy of the West, top prizes at the Munich, Geneva and Concert Artists Guild International Competitions, and Concert Artists Guild's 2016 Virtuoso Award. In 2007 he was awarded an honorary professorship at China's Central Conservatory in Beijing.

Previous recipients of the Bogomolny Award include Rudolf Serkin, Alice Tully, Billy Taylor, the Juilliard, Emerson, and Kronos string quartets, Chick Corea, Kenneth Fischer, and Paquito D’Rivera.

A discussion with Shifrin about his life in chamber music will take place on the final day of the CMA Conference, Sunday, January 7 at 10:00 AM, followed by the award presentation. Admission to the event is free with conference registration.


Chamber Music America, the national network for ensemble music professionals, was founded in 1977 to develop, support, and strengthen the chamber music field. With a membership of nearly 6,000, including musicians, ensembles, presenters, artist managers, educators, music businesses, and advocates of ensemble music, CMA welcomes members representing a wide range of musical styles and traditions. CMA provides its members with grant programs, consulting services, a national conference, professional development seminars, access to instrument and other insurances, and several publications, including Chamber Music magazine; the weekly Accent e-newsletter; and a member-driven website, www.chamber-music.org.

For more information on CMA’s 40th Anniversary Conference, visit conference.chamber-music.org.

# # #