Musicians of the San Francisco Opera Orchestra

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Ticket Information


Purchase Tickets:

Music at Kohl Mansion, 2750 Adeline Dr., Burlingame, CA 94010

Phone: (650) 762-1130; Fax: (650) 343-8464

Web:; E-mail:


Single Tickets:

$48 Adult; $45 Senior; $15 Gen Y&Z (30 and under)

7:00 PM
Presented By
Music at Kohl Mansion
Event Type
Event Contact
Music at Kohl Mansion
Contact Email


In Music at Kohl’s early years, musicians from our world-renowned San Francisco Symphony and Opera orchestras regularly made guest appearances. We proudly bring back this tradition with an ensemble of six magnificent musicians including SFO Concertmaster Kay Stern, violinist Dawn Harms, cellist Emil Miland (an early MAKM favorite), oboist Janet Archibald, percussionist Mark Veregge and pianist Steven Bailey. Together, these great colleagues and friends have selected a program of beloved pieces exclusively for us, as well as the Bay Area premiere of The Despot’s Rule, the Slave’s Revenge for cello, piano and marimba, composed for Emil Miland by SF Opera Orchestra double-bassist Shinji Eshima. Mr. Eshima is enjoying widespread acclaim for his recent compositions and is currently at work on his second commissioned work for the San Francisco Ballet.


Ensemble Name
Musicians of the San Francisco Opera Orchestra
Kay Stern, Dawn Harms, violins; Emil Miland, cello; Janet Archibald, oboe;  Mark Veregge, marimba; Steven Bailey, piano
Mozart, Eshima, Erich Korngold


Mozart: Oboe Quartet in F Major, K. 370

Eshima: The Despot’s Rule, The Slave’s Revenge for cello, piano and marimba (composed for Emil Miland)

Erich Korngold: Suite for two violins, cello, and piano left hand, op. 23

Kohl Mansion
2750 Adeline Drive
Burlingame, CA
(650) 762-1130